Greatcall Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Greatcall
Shop Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for GreatCall Jitterbug Touch

GreatCall Jitterbug Touch

A smartphone that is easy to use - right from the start.
Overall rating:
3.4 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
9 out of 14(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
182 Questions | 188 Answers
Customer reviews for Jitterbug Touch
Review 1 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Finally a larger contact list, at a cost

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimmy
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My main reason for getting this phone is more room for contact phone numbers, as my standard Jitterbug phone only had 50 slots for phone numbers and this one is limited only by the amount of memory. I also wanted the camera with ability to send pictures out.
After having used another device for a while, I found navigating through this phone more difficult to learn.
Pros
1. I like large amount of room for the contact list
2. I am pleased with it's texting and sending pictures.
3. I like the option to set a smaller data plan at a lower cost compared to the major carriers, since I don't use text messaging nor data that much.
Cons
1. My biggest beef is when I decide to use the keyboard during a session or call, as soon as I slide it out, I lose the session or call I'm on. Now I never use it. So, it's just taking up space and weight.
2. The second problem comes when I use voicemail. After the voice asks for my PIN, the screen goes blank and by the time I get it back on, unlock the screen, and find the virtual phone keypad, it's too late to listen to the voicemail because I didn't enter the PIN soon enough. Setting the virtual keypad first helps a little, but there's still a delay in turning the screen back on, which is not affected by the screen timeout settings.
3. Using with bluetooth is unreliable, as it often doesn't make connection fast enough on an incoming call to work through the bluetooth device, so I know I can't trust it everytime. On outgoing calls I can wait until I know the connection is made. Sometimes the bluetooth loses connection during a call and I can no longer hear the caller even directily with the phone to my ear.
4. Memory is small, limiting what apps I can load to the device.
5. The display won't get bright enough in daylight or even outdoors in shade to see.
Overall, I am keeping this one for the amount of phone numbers I can save, but if Greatcall offers a better smartphone in the future, I will become very interested.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Jitter bug touch

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
kzemog
from Livermore, CA, USA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speaker volume 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Coverage 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I hate this phone. When you are talking on it it goes black and you have to try to get it back on, just to hang up.
If it didn't cost me so much I would return it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is a great machine

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
skippy
from Moses Lake, WA 98837, USA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great little phone but we couldn't get any bars here where I live. I really loved it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits my needs

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
MVMiss
from Boston, MA, USA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a phone for limited calls with the ability to text, for a reasonable monthly cost and ease of use. The slide out keypad is a bonus for me - I love it. This fills the bill for me. And Great Call customer service is, well, great. I did NOT get this model for data usage (internet, email, other apps) and this phone and the Great Call data plans are not ideal for that. Even though you can get inexpensive monthly data plans here, don't be fooled, they do not provide enough data to do much of anything. You need at least a GB or two for decent web browsing and email usage, to say nothing of other apps. Shop around if you think you are going to be using a lot of data, and data storage. That being said, this is the perfect phone for my needs, basically a nice little phone, with good range and great battery life, that can text. Also has a not-so-great camera, but I didn't get it to take photos, either. I have an actual digital camera for that.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Somewhat Disappointed

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Shrink57
from TX
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coverage 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1. A little history: I am a person with a hearing loss and, thus, a person for whom Great Call recommends this phone. When I bought my first cell phone from another company, I could not hear it and had to ask my wife to listen to the caller and tell me what was being said. I went to a phone store, tried every phone available, and could not hear on any of them. Then I found Great Call and got the basic Jitterbug phone (Jitterbug Red). I was excellent. It was easy to use and I could hear it clearly. But, it had neither data processing or email capability, so I decided to try the Jitterbug Smartphone. Compared to the Jitterbug Red, it has been a disappointment.
2. Evaluation:
a. The display is good, I have no trouble seeing and manipulating the screen.
b. The volume is good, in fact sometimes I have to turn it down.
c. The clarity is far below that of the Jitterbug Red. I often have to ask the caller to repeat what was said. I have found that if I turn to volume down to about 3/4 capacity, I hear it better, but it is still not as clear as the Jitterbug Red.
d. The ease of use is much more complex than the ads state. I have to call the help line many times because I can't get the Smart Phone to do what I need.
e. The customer assistance is excellent. They are very patient, give good clear instructions, consult with technical staff when needed. I have found that in most cases, my problem has been solved or my question has been answered. This, in my opinion, is best thing Jitterbug has. Thank you assistants!
f. I don't know why Jitterbug housed the phone in a Kyocera Gingerbread smart phone. This is an outdated product which was not much good when it was new. The Smart Phone would much better if they had chosen an up to date housing.
g. The storage is quite limited for a cell phone.
h. The email works well, and the coverage is good everywhere I have been.
I. I have found it difficult to transfer pictures from my computer to my phone and this has been the only area that the customer assistance folks haven't been able to figure out.
I. Even with all its faults, I have found the phone to be adequate for my current needs. When I was using the Jitterbug Red, I carried a phone from another provider to take care of email and data. I found the supplemental phone I was using with the Jitterbug Red to be much better and easier to use than is the Jitterbug Smart Phone, but I could not use as a phone because I could not hear it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ringtones options

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Riverboat
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speaker volume 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coverage 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my first Android phone now that I have had it for over a month I kind of wish I had bought another Android or Smart Phone. It is a GREAT " learners " phone but being a Sage-ing person with pretty good tech skills I learned fast. I like choices for RING TONES on my phones. I prefer to change them though! The ones they have for Clock alarm are at best annoying :). I was disappointed to learn that in order to change ANY RING TONES for calls or maybe even alerts/notifications coming in I have to download & pay "GOOGLE PLAY" 7.99 a MONTH (normally $9.99 a month). This Google feature allows you to download all your music but that would take up way to much space and usage on this 3G phone. I like having really cool ring tones...a variety of new age relaxing choices...beautiful chimes to smooth jazz but I can not buy them unless I pay the monthly GOOGLE fee. To be fair I love this upgrade from my little prepaid phone to a touch Android. The selling price is great and its been fun to learn on but now the other side of me would like more features and my hunger for more tech choices has just set in......live and learn.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read replies (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Sage
MA
 
Please wait while more information about Sage is loaded.
Additional information about Sage could not be loaded.
Ringtones options
Posted June 11, 2013
I very well could be mistaken, I hope that I am :) It is my understanding I needed to go PLAY STORE and look up ring tone under music. If anyone knows how to buy ring tones from Google or other sites I would appreciate some guidance.
(Hope I did not misinform others)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
JohnG23
 
Please wait while more information about JohnG23 is loaded.
Additional information about JohnG23 could not be loaded.
Mistaken
Posted June 8, 2013
I think you're mistaken - the Google Play service you saw was for listening to unlimited streaming music, nothing to do with ring tones and the like.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read replies (2)
Review 7 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great phone , easy to use

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
James
from Caldwell, ID, USA
Age:55-64
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been a Jitterbug customer for many years , because of the simple to use phones, and the volume that makes it easy to hear. So I was a little concerned about changing to this phone. I found that it is actually easier to hear on this one than may last phone. I am still learning how to work all the features, but have had it less than a month. Be carefull on the data plan, I started with the 10 MB thought it would be enough. and it wasn't had to upgrade. also if you need to check you usage you will need to sight in tho the website , the place where you can check usage on the phone seldom is avalible , all and all a great phone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the phone for most seniors

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
OldRadioGuy
from Austin, TX, USA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would love to give this product a higher rating, but the negatives outweigh the positives. First, the good:
1. Battery life is excellent, much better than the regular Jitterbug.
2. The ability to utilize wi-fi is great for those who have a wireless router in their home, thus cutting down on data time charges.
3. The screens, for the most part, are very simple to use as long as you're working with the main apps and people sections.
4. The pricing plan options are very fair.
Now the bad:
1. The internal memory of this phone is much too small to utilize apps that would extend the usefulness of this smartphone. Senior with the technical skills to use a good smartphone will be disappointed.
2. Not enough thought was given to integration of downloaded apps with the defaults. If you take advantage of the Google option, you wind up with two email apps running, GMail and the default email, and there's no way to unload the default email app.
3. If you use pictures of contacts in gmail on your laptop or desktop computer, those pictures will be downloaded to your phone. These thumbnails are great, making it much easier to locate the phone numbers you want to use. But they take up memory on the card.
4. The first thing I did after I got the phone is change to another SIM card with double the capacity. That's not enough.
5. The camera quality on this phone is very limited compared to what's available on the market today.
6. All of the app additions needed to make the phone worthwhile are too complex for most seniors to use.
So my recommendations -- Most seniors, keep your standard Jitterbug phone.
For those of us with technical skills, we should be asking Greatcall to offer a better smartphone with 4G, more storage and RAM space for more Apps.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+38points
43of 48voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read replies (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Shrink57
Stephenville Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Shrink57 is loaded.
Additional information about Shrink57 could not be loaded.
I find this to be true!
Posted May 24, 2013
I agree with OldRadioGuy. I have been very disappointed with this product, especially after the good service of the original red Jitterbug. I also wish they had used a more up to date housing instead of the Kyocera housing, which is outdated.
The Shrink
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read replies (1)
Review 9 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not recommend

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
pippi
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age:55-64
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am returning this phone after a trip away when everyone was yelling at me that the reception was so poor. It is not that easy to operate either. I do not recommend. The customer service however from Great Call was superb!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy for me to use!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
kat29
from 29 Palms, CA, USA
Age:55-64
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a smart phone that is very affordable and is easy to use even for me which I have very little electronic experience! The screen is very clear and easy to read and the colors are awesome. There are a lot of different ring tones to choose from. I also like the silent mode feature that is easily accessed at your finger tips! The apps and contacts are really easy to use to find people and things that you want to do on this phone. Adding contacts are very simple along with deleting them too. I especially love the query keyboard for texting! This is a quality made phone I am glad for my purchase and I thank you Great Call!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Recommend

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
TimJ
from Fla
Age:55-64
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speaker volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coverage 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I used three days and returned. The data usage is extremely high and forces you to pay additional fees. Features are ok but not recommended for a senior with little cell experience.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read replies (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Twinkle1
Fort Worth, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Twinkle1 is loaded.
Additional information about Twinkle1 could not be loaded.
High Data Usage Comment
Posted May 3, 2013
I am interested in getting this phone for my momm due to its user friendly features. I am concerned about the high data usage you mentioned, however she does not use the phone a lot. Can you give me an estimate of how much phone/text time you considered to be high such that extra fees were required? Thank you!
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read replies (1)
Review 12 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Jaykubson13
from Abuja, Nigeria
Age:45-54
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product is good but the distribution coverage is not wide enough. Nigeria is one of the country that citizens love gargets to include JITTERBUG TOUCH but thit could not be found in any part of the country. Make possible arrangement to assign a Distributor to ABUJA - Nigeria.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
8of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new smart touch phone

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
PJDC
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coverage 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had my new phone for about a month. I really love it.
I am still learning about how it works and I will be or should be good within another month. The more I use it the easier it gets.
I have used the camera, that was easy.
I have used the Text but I don't really use it that much.
But it is good.
I finely figured out voice mail. Very good.
I think I will be buying the Blue tooth.
I am very happy with all the features.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+36points
40of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features.

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
staley79
from Lexington. Ky
Age:Over 65
I especially like the fact that Email and messaging are possiele with this phone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
34of 61voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Jitterbug Touch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazed at Phone Features

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
GenesJitterbug
from Kernersville, NC, USA
Age:55-64
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am so glad that I waited to get me a smartphone and what do you know GreatCall comes out with one. The rate plans are excellent and quite affordable compared to other phone companies!! I am still learning my phone and really pleased with all the features - especially being able to check my emails while not at home. I advise everyone just to take their time and play around with their phone to see what all you can do with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+33points
224of 415voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read replies (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jitterfan
florida
 
Please wait while more information about jitterfan is loaded.
Additional information about jitterfan could not be loaded.
thank you
Posted December 19, 2012
i have had a gitterbug since 2009, wanted to know how much extra is it besides the minutes? I am almost ready to buy the smartphone,wanted to know if the battery last longer than the original gitterbug.
thank you
+1point
5of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read replies (1)