Greatcall Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Greatcall
Shop Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for GreatCall 5Star Responder Black

GreatCall 5Star Responder Black

5Star Responder - Black - The compact, discrete, and GPS enabled 5Star Responder can prepare you for any unsafe or uncertain situation. Simply press the button anytime you need help and you’re connected to 5Star – or press and hold to connect to 9-1-1 directly. Conveniently attaches to your keychain, purse, backpack or other items. Available in black or silver.
Overall rating:
4.803 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
69 out of 69(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
313 Questions | 443 Answers
Customer reviews for 5Star Responder Black
Review 1 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This system has fine features.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Dan47
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 5Star has surpassed my expectations, I will highly recommend it to my friends.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has brought peace of mind

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Sara
from Mi
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because I had a sudden unexpected medical issue I got this call alert product to help bring peace of mind to myself and my adult children. Several of my friends are also considering getting this same product because they see how easy it is to carry around and use. I have mine attached to a silver rope necklace and don't even realize it is around my neck most of the time. The cost of the product and monthly charge is certainly reasonable in my opinion.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great and gives me peace of mind.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Diamond543
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This system replaced a previous system I used. I feel so much safer with this system than I did with the previous one. I would highly recommend it to everyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One happy customer.

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
HappyCustomer
from Putnam County, NY
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased the 5 Star for my 85 year old mother and we are very happy with the product. It's a very good product to have in case of an emergency. The coverage is very good and can be used at home and out and about. It's small, affordable and easy to use. She never leaves home without it and loves to make test calls to demonstrate the features to her senior citizen friends. The 5 Star call center encourages this and it gives her a piece of mind that the unit is working. When I know she is out and about, I simply log in and can see where she is. If I know she is driving, I don't have to call her and risk her being distracted while she's driving. Once I know she's home, then I call her. The only feature that is missing is that it's not water proof. We did purchased the water proof pouch but it's uncomfortable and not stylish to wear out in public.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
BillMcD
from Arlington, VA 23310, USA
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My mom is 93 and still lives at home and I (her 62yo son) live with her but I can't always be there. She is not too technically inclined so me going on line and doing the work was a piece of cake. We did a check with the unit and got right to the monitoring office and everything was set up and ready to go.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I feel better knowing my Mom has it where ever she goes.

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Jes57
from Minnesota
Age:55-64
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, this is a good product. It offers more than the typical life line product that is limited to the area the home phone reaches. My mother carries it every where. The only complaint I have is the size and the rubber like wrist band. It is a little too big to comfortably wear on her wrist. The band appears cheap and makes her wrist sweat in the house. I can't imagine how warm it will be when we get temps above 50 degrees. I will probably get her the neck pouch to carry it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Your product seems to be excellent. Works very good!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Frank349
from Omaha,Nebraska
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with our purchase. Battery holds charge for very long time too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Greatcall gives us added security

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
magician43
from Roanoke, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Greatcall gives us peace of mind when we are away from the house or if one of us is here alone. As opposed to the emergency call buttons which only operate in the house and have a limited range, we can take the Greatcall wherever we go -- even on out-of-town trips. We have recommended it to a relative who lives alone. My only reservation is the fact that it does not have an indicator showing the charge level of the battery -- that would be helpful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great product for me as I travel

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
JAY56
from Canton, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for something for my life style, not something for home use only. I travel a lot and think would feel more secure knowing help just a button push away. I live alone now with my wife in a nursing home and had problems and was concerned about help getting to me. My neighbor has keys to my house and will now be notified to open the house for the EMTs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Rick
from North Olmsted Ohio
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Every thing was easy to buy, set up, and test. I do wish the snap with the cord on it was a bit bigger.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customer Service

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
jaybee
from Denver Co
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was completely blown away with the friendly professionalism of customer service and getting help
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works ok

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
RickS61
from Lansing, MI, USA
Age:45-54
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coverage 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
While this is a step up from other emergency call services, it's not without it's bugs. It doesn't always give accurate location reports, if at all. But, the fact that my dad can call for help with the touch of a button, no matter where he is, makes this device worthwhile.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Perfect !!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Tripper9157
from Wrightsville Beach, NC, USA
Age:55-64
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The heck with " I've fallen and I can't Get Up".
This device is so easy to use and you can use it any where!
1. Quick and fast response.
2. The team members answer with in seconds.
3. The answering team are knowledgable and very polite even with the elderly who seem to be a little bit lost and all over the place.
4. They truly seem to care about their clients.
5. On a scale of 1-10 it would be a 10+.
6. The price is so little for the service that you receive is not even an issue like less than .50 cents a day.
For security like this it's really priceless!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to use!

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Ladybug
from Austin, TX, USA
Age:45-54
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This emergency responder is such a great tool. Because of the GPS feature it knows exactly where I am when I call - it works outside the home. GreatCall people respond immediately and my health issues are listed in my profile so if I can't respond they know what the problem may be and can take appropriate action.
This is not only a comfort for me but is also a huge relief for my kids knowing that I have help only a button click away.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple to use, quick response

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
djher
from Fort Wayne, IN
Age:55-64
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased the 5Star responder for our mother and the first night she had it, our father with Parkinson's had to push the button. They called EMS and talked with them until the EMS got there. Very efficient and comforting knowing they try to keep the clients calm until help arrives!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Chris
from Fremont, CA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The unit is small and easy to carry. The battery keeps its charge for many days which is really surprising.
I have not had to use it in an emergency situation yet, but I am sure that it will be everything I expected to be.
It was very easy to activate the unit on-line.
Chris
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the GPS feature

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
allanid59
from De Soto, MO 63020, USA
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I rated everything as Excellent even though I have only used it once and that was to show my extended family how it worked. The young man that answered was extremely nice and to show my family how the GPS worked, he quickly told me where I was - they were impressed, as was I. I feel so much better just knowing that I have "someone" with me wherever I go. I have had two heart attacks and suffer with severe COPD. Sometimes I can hardly speak so the 911 feature along with the GPS, is also a great feature. Thank you 5-Star!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feel Very Secure

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
OntheGoJoe14
from Texas
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speaker volume 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had Great Call two or three months and feel very secure. Fortunately, I haven't needed to use it, but I know it works because I accidentally pressed the button while I was away from home and had a conversation with a very helpful person.
I was surprised there wasn't a cord included for wearing the button around my neck. I was also surprised that I am charged tax--this is my third medical alert and I don't believe I have paid tax before. I have bought medical devices (including mobility-equipped vehicles) for many years and have paid no tax until now.
Great Call is a great value (In spite of the tax) and provides peace of mind.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read replies (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dmb65
North Newton Ks
 
Please wait while more information about dmb65 is loaded.
Additional information about dmb65 could not be loaded.
wrong vtoe
Posted March 7, 2014
I meant to give it a thumbs up, not down.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read replies (1)
Review 19 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tracking feature needs to be made to work.

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Retired
from Home of Jack Daniels
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speaker volume 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coverage 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ability to track is still not operational or functional either on a main frame or smart phone with the app installed. You need to get this feature up and working.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 5Star Responder Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good technology. Pricing very, very reasonable.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
TeddyJ
from Danbury, CT
Age:Over 65
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speaker volume 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coverage 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had trouble setting up an account and registering, (it took four different calls to customer service), but, the final time worked as promised. Setting aside that glitch, I love the product, customer service, coverage, and pricing. I now feel comfortable outside of my home instead of only having coverage within the home with the other system that I had, at almost three times the monthly cost.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>